End of season events were back at Dunmore Park, with all three celebrations (miniroos, juniors and seniors) taking place at our home ground. We were so happy to be able to highlight the successes we’ve had throughout the year, and to thank our volunteers for the contributions that they have made.

Life Members

The Club announced three new life members to Toowong FC to mark our Centenary – Pete Muir, Brendon Boss and Marcus Middendorp. All three served as executive committee members for multiple years, and were instrumental in modernising the Club throughout the 2000s and 2010s. Some of Pete, Bossy and Middie’s key achievements during this time include:

  • Significant infrastructure improvements (second field, spectator facilities and multiple major clubhouse and changeroom development projects)
  • Governance and systems transformation, leading to our four-star National Club Development Program rating
  • Development of our girls’/women’s programs at the Club so that we’re now leaders in both spaces
  • Embedding a positive club culture that has made Toowong FC a club of choice for so many.

Junior Player Awards

U12 Div 4 Player Of The YearHayden Evans
U12 Div 4 Coach’s AwardLouie Johannessen
U12 Div 7 Player Of The YearTheo Pearn
U12 Div 7 Coach’s AwardRyan Tran
U12 Girls Div 3 Player Of The YearSaffron Meredith
U12 Girls Div 3 Coach’s AwardHarriet Gray
U13 Div 4 Player Of The YearJackson Greene
U13 Div 4 Coach’s AwardJamie Homer
U13 Girls Div 1 Player Of The YearAryel Bisseling
U13 Girls Div 1 Coach’s AwardAmali Whish-Wilson
U15 Div 4 Player Of The YearAustin Croll
U15 Div 4 Coach’s AwardYianni Diakoelias
U15 Girls Div 2 Player Of The YearLauren Bailey
U15 Girls Div 2 Coach’s AwardZahra Showiheen

Senior Player Awards

Competitive Team of the Year – Men’s City 4 (finished minor premiers with 15 wins, 1 draw and 2 losses, GF runners up)

Golden Gloves – Greg Maciejewski (Men’s City 4) and Bella Lemond (Capital Reserves Women)

Golden Boot – Neil Smith (Men’s City 4) and Penny Channon (Capital Women)

MC6 Player of the Year 2021Fredrik Ohlin
MC6 Coach’s Award 2021Naqibullah Danesh
MC4 Player of the Year 2021Andy Hamblin
MC4 Coach’s Award 2021Santiago Clausse
MC1 Player of the Year 2021Cody Williamson
MC1 Coach’s Award 2021Woody Lloyd-Core
WC4 Tomcat of the Year 2021Katie Smith
WC4 Coach’s Award 2021Yuki Mortimer
WC2 Tomcat of the Year 2021Eliza Marcelo
WC2 Coach’s Award 2021Bec Bailey
BPL Coach’s Award 2021Ben Stanley
BPL Player of the Year 2021Jonathon Alderton
BPL (Res) Coach’s Award 2021Joel Ingram
BPL (Res) Player of the Year 2021Matt Morris
Capital Player of the Year 2021Grace McManus
Capital Coach’s Award 2021Grace McManus
Capital (Res) Player of the Year 2021Ashlyn Smith
Capital (Res) Coach’s Award 2021Amy Anderson & Olivia Raffaele
O35 Div 1 Player of the Year 2021Shaun McDevitt
O35 Div 1 Coach’s Award 2021Adam Bonney
O35 Div 2 Player of the Year 2021Matt Soome
O35 Div 2 Coach’s Award 2021Dave Moran
O35 Div 5 Player of the Year 2021Rick Evans
O35 Div 5 Coach’s Award 2021John Larkin
O45 Player of the Year 2021Glen Challenor
O45 Coach’s Award 2021Evan Tsonis

Volunteer Awards

Clubperson of the Year (Phoenix Shield) – Andrew Newman

Andrew has been an amazing contributor to the Club as a coach for a few years (taking the U10 White in 2021), and lent his time and energy to co-ordinating the miniroos girls this year, managing three different age groups and multiple teams, as well as stepping up and filling in when other coaches weren’t available. Andrew’s enthusiasm, patience and dedication are admirable, and we are very proud to have him as Clubperson of the Year for 2021.

Club Community Team of the Year (Muir Shield) – Women’s City 2

With three committee members (Becky Ashelford, Courtney Green and Helen Gibson), the Women’s City 2 team have been at the heart of just about everything at Toowong FC in 2021. Aside from contributing around the Club with weekly tasks, the WC2 were also instrumental with pre-season setup, Centenary celebrations, and Summer 6s organisation. They have also consistently had the highest turnout for working bees, and are always displaying the community club spirit of Toowong FC proudly, both on and off the field.

Coach of the Year – Leo Aliakbari (U15 Boys)

Leo is the consummate Toowong FC coach – positive, passionate, and focused on building his players into well-rounded and resilient community members. Leo’s positivity and support for his players is outstanding, and he is an absolute treasure for our Club.